top of page

History of Our Museum

1939-1940: Building was originally constructed. It was county owned and included judge’s chambers, court room, jury deliberation room, justice court clerk, police protection district office, and two jail cells

1942: Housed OPA (Office of Price Administration) which distributed WWII ration stamps

1950: Addition of two more jail cells, another restroom, police chief office, furnace room

1961: City of Weed incorporates, and the building was deeded to the City and used as the South County Justice Court, City Clerk, and Weed Police Department

1984: The Weed Historic Lumber Town Museum is incorporated on September 25th

1985: The City (Council) approves the building for the Museum. Renovation is started by adding outside walls and a new gabled roof 

1987: Museum opens to the public one day a week starting June 7

1990: Museum is open Friday, Saturday, and Sunday starting July 7

1991: Construction of a new 40’ x 60’ addition funded in part by the McConnell Foundation of Redding, CA

1992: Museum opens seven days a week from Memorial Day through the end of September

2020: Museum opens Monday - Sunday (closed Tuesdays) from Memorial Day weekend through the end of September.


The Museum continues to operate in part by an endowment from the Zimmerman Foundation, Transient Occupancy Tax (TOT) collected by the City, donations from visitors, and annual historical society memberships.

Abner Weed

Abner Weed was born on September 18, 1842 to Abner and Sarah Weed in Dixmont, Penobscot County, Maine. He married Rachael Cunningham in 1865 and moved West. After farming in Iowa, they moved to the Truckee, California area in 1869, and then on to Sisson (Mt. Shasta) in 1889. He purchased Maxwell's mill near the North slope of Black Butte. In 1900, he went a few miles farther North and purchased the Eddy and Decker property which became the site of his 2 mills built in 1901 & 1902.

Dedicated Board Members, circa 2013
We hope to see you next Spring at our Annual Chicken and Ravioli dinner at the Weed Sons of Italy Lodge. Tickets will go on sale in February of 2024.
Founding Board Members

Barbara Carden, Jeannine Hendrickson, Allen Jones, Mary Mazzei, Bonnie Schumacher, Fred Sterchi, Darrell Williams, Elmer Zimmerman, Roger Zwanziger 

Current Board Members
 (elected for two year terms)

Terry Dalin, Shirley Dutt, Darin Quigley, Paula Rossetto, Deborah Salvestrin, Paul Shelton, Andrew Tavalero, Joanie Zarzynski, and Al Bearden.

Current Board Officers
(elected annually)

President: Shirley Dutt

Vice President: Paul Shelton

Finance Officer: Terry Dalin

Secretary: Deborah Salvestrin

Dinner - March 9, 2024
Dinner - March 9, 2024
bottom of page